Hitting the wedding wall

wedding-planning

As is perhaps evident from the lack of blog action, I have hit a bit of a wall when it comes to wedding planning. It’s not that I’m not super excited, I’m just starting to feel a bit…overwhelmed?

When we first got engaged I threw myself head-first into every aspect of planning our day. Not in a bridezilla way – in a ‘ohmygodthisisjustsoexciting’ way. And that was great. I loved browsing ALL the wedding blogs, rating the shoes, perving over photos and generally getting my fix, but I suddenly feel like I may have overdosed. There’s just SO much. Everyday there’s a new theme on Pinterest, a new photographer to consider, an updated collection from my fave dress designer and another relative asking you about whether you’ve picked your flowers yet. It’s all lovely, but it is just making me question EVERYTHING.

So, in an attempt to keep my sanity, I’m scaling back. I’m going to give myself a couple of hours a week to focus on all things wedding-related and I’m going to immerse myself in it and it’ll be amazing. After that, I’ll go back to worrying about Khloe Kardashian’s face and what I’m going to have for lunch. I don’t want my wedding to feel like a chore, I don’t want SO much choice and I do want to remember this period as being enjoyable. I’m hoping this will reignite my excitement, enable me to focus on what’s important to us and not get too caught up in whether or not I can do Calligraphy.

I’m guessing it’s not just me and I’m not just missing some kind of bride-gene?! Coping methods gratefully received @honest_bride!

Leave a Reply

